Adventures in Sewing

20 Dec

I have a confession:

I can’t sew.

I learned the basic needle and thread thing as a kid, but then I went through a mini-feminist stage. Whenever my mom tried to teach me something I deemed traditional “woman’s work” I rebelled. I thought I’d just become rich and have people do that sort of thing for me. Sensible, right?

Well, the irony…I now write a blog dedicated to homemaking. So there, Past Katie. Growing up has taught me that feminism and homemaking skills are not mutually exclusive. Follow your passion, as they say, and my passion is pretty things.

Want to know what’s not pretty? A coat and a sweater pushed to the back of your closet because they lost buttons, um, months ago.

Nothing like a wardrobe shortage to make a girl learn a new skill.

Sadly, my beloved no-sew iron-on tape does not work on buttons (I used it to make curtains in two rooms in my house, though – check out a tutorial here – Sherry is a fellow non-sewer!)

So (haha),I picked up this sewing kit for $8.99 at Target.

Singer Sewing Kit

Here’s what was inside:

Sewing Kit Content

  • Instant Hem Tape (know it)
  • Iron-On Hem Tape (know it, love it)
  • Needle Compact with Threader (I have no idea what a threader is, or why it has a Native American chief on it. Can anyone shed some light?)
  • Seam Ripper (Obvious, but I’ve never used one.)
  • Marking Pencil (It says it’s water soluble, so…that’s good?)
  • Thimble (how cute!)
  • Scissors
  • Sewing Gauge (no clue)
  • Straight Pins
  • 5 mini spools of thread

The subject:

Coat

I’ve sewn buttons before, but usually badly and not finishing before someone took the whole thing out of my hands and said, “Here, just let me do it.”

This time, I was determined to do it myself. With a little help from Mr. Hong.

Who’s Mr. Hong? Oh, just the angriest looking tailor I’ve ever seen, who stars in his own sewing tutorial on VideoJug (whose tag line is amusingly “Get Good at Life.”):

It won’t let me embed, but you can check out Mr. Hong here.

He doesn’t look happy about it, but Mr. Hong took me through the steps, and with much pausing and rewinding, I did it! I actually ended up sewing 3 buttons, two on the coat and one on a sweater. Here’s the coat:

Coat 2

I won’t be auditioning for Project Runway anytime soon, but it works!

If you’re equally clueless, take a look at Mr. Hong’s video. It explains it much better than I can.

I can now check button sewing off the life skills list. I know, I know, it should have been checked off around 10-years-old, but I was busy. Babysitter Club books don’t just read themselves, people.

I feel better thinking about that How I Met Your Mother episode where they discussed each of the characters’ knowledge gaps – things they should know how to do, but some reason, don’t. This was definitely my knowledge gap.

What’s something you should know how to do but don’t? (‘Fess up!)

Oh, and if you think this means I’m going to take a second look at that curbside sewing machine table and get inspired to go full-on seamstress, think again. I’m sticking to buttons.

One Response to “Adventures in Sewing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pretty Quick: Mason Jar Sewing Kit « Every Day Pretty - January 6, 2012

    [...] I proclaimed here, I can now sew. Kind of. As in, I can sew on a button. And nothing stops kind-of sewing like [...]

Leave a Reply

