Lately…

29 Oct

It is the last week of October. The last week!

Let’s just let that sink in for a minute.

I don’t know about you, but I feel like October went by at lightening speed. It’s my favorite month of the year, and this year certainly did not disappoint.

Settle in for a little catch up…

Hartwood Hall

The biggest event of this past month was definitely the marriage of my little brother! Michael and Leslie (remember the bridal shower?) tied the knot, and it couldn’t have been more special. This is the reception site, a renovated barn at Heartwood Hall in Piperton, Tennessee.

Reclaimed wood beams, tealight candles in the trees, floor to ceiling stone fireplace – this place is breathtaking. And, what did I do? I danced. I danced and danced and did not take one photograph (save this one). I’m a bad blogger. I’ll leave the question as to whether I’m a bad dancer up to any impending video coverage (which I can guarantee won’t make the blog).

Jack

Of course, with the wedding came a weekend of hanging out with family, including this guy. Jack may be getting a little white in the beard (do dogs have beards?) but don’t let that fool you. Jack (Jackson, if you’re feeling formal, Jackie if you’re feeling cuddly) will get tired of running after a ball long after you get tired of throwing it. Jack is the son of our beloved Ginger, who passed away last year, and I stand by my claim that between the two of them, we have lived with two best dogs ever. Period.

Owl Lamp

I’ve done some sprucing to my bedroom lately, and this may be my favorite addition. It’s a bit more whimsical than I usually go, but I just couldn’t resist. It fits in perfectly on my nightstand and it makes me smile.

Jewelry Station

I also fixed up a little jewelry station on my dresser. It’s perfect for getting ready in the morning and let’s me see all my jewelry at once. Love it.TheInspiration

This weekend, the River Arts Festival took place downtown, in the South Main area. It’s one of my favorite Memphis neighborhoods, and its old storefronts and warehouses provide the perfect backdrop for artists selling their wares and demonstrating everything from pottery throwing to glass blowing.

mug

I picked up this beautiful mug from local potter David Johnson and I swear it made my coffee taste a little better this morning. Love local, usable art (complete with a Jack photo bomb).

How’s your world been lately?

PS. October 20th was the 1 year anniversary of this little blog! Thank you so much to all of you have followed and participated over this year. I have learned so much this year, and I’ve enjoyed it immensely. I hope to get back to a regular schedule soon. I hope you’ll continue to have some pretty little fun with me!

2 Responses to “Lately…”

  1. Linda October 29, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    Beautiful pictures and BTW you are a great dancer!

  2. Leslie November 3, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Love this post :) And congrats on your 1 anniversary with the blog!

Leave a Reply

