New York, New York

30 Apr

Last week, I had a quick little work trip to one of my favorite cities, New York City. Were you tipped off by the New York-themed posts last week?

Bryant Park

Bryant Park, as seen from a 17th floor balcony reception across the street. What a view!

I was there for a PR conference that brought together some of the top minds in the business and was insanely fascinating. Let’s just say I’m kind of in love with what I do.

Know what else I’m in love with?

Walking the streets of New York City, people watching, building watching, taxi watching…just watching, in general. I didn’t get too much time outside of the conference, but when I did, I tried to snap some pictures of things that caught my eye. Want to see?

NYC Buildings

I love how some of the buildings in the Financial District crowd each other, forming these little strips of lights in between.

NYC Buildings2

This narrow street in the Financial District reminded me of some of the older parts of London, quiet and dark. There was even a slight drizzle the night we were walking here. (Interesting observation from my co-worker Hannah: everyone’s umbrellas were black! Down South drizzle means the chance to break out the polka dots and crazy color umbrellas.)

NYC Battery Park

Battery Park, New York City

Battery Park has always been one of my favorite places in the city. Last time I was there, I was fortunate enough to be able to jog through it each morning. There’s something about running while looking at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island (where some of my relatives arrived in this country from Italy, Ireland and Germany) that makes for a good day.

This time, no time for morning jogs, but we did eat dinner in a cute little bar overlooking the water. I snapped this shot outside the bar, because I thought the row of benches, old-fashioned lamps and hexagon cobblestone was so romantic.

911 Memorial

The next few photos aren’t pretty. However, there’s a quiet beauty about them, mixed in with stark sadness. I have to admit, visiting the 9/11 Memorial was not easy. It was very strange to be there, at the gravesite of some many people, there in the middle of a bustling city.

911Memorial2

I think the memorial is beautifully done, quiet and unassuming. I felt the names of the victims were at the forefront, as they should be. Of course, it’s not my opinion that counts; it’s the opinions of the families of those victims. I hope the memorial brings them some peace.

911Memorial3

I’d say about 75 percent of the crowd at the memorial was somber, slowly walking around each reflecting pool, taking it all in. However, there were some people there, mostly younger people, who were taking vacation photos and generally being tourists. I won’t lie – this bothered me. I wonder if you weren’t alive, or if you were very young, when this tragedy unfolded, maybe you just don’t feel it the same way? Perhaps there’s a disconnection, like I might have for a Civil War memorial: appreciation for the loss of life, but no real connection to the people affected.

Either way, I hope this memorial helps the people affected to have some closure, and serves as a reminder to the rest of us just how fortunate we are to have not been affected.

Freedom Tower, New York City

Freedom Tower, New York City

Here’s the new Freedom Tower, still under construction and already reaching into the clouds. (Full disclosure: It was raining, so the clouds were a bit more attainable).

The skyscraper will become the tallest in New York City today when it reaches 1,250 feet high, just above the Empire State Building.

Closing on a somber note, but that was my whirlwind trip to the great city of New York.

What I didn’t take pictures of? A perfect slice of thin crust pizza and a quick but necessary pop-in to Bloomingdales (holy luxury bags) and my first time at The Container Store (thank goodness I had to fly home or I would have bought my weight in drawer dividers – nerd).

How was your weekend? Do you live in New York City? I’d love to hear about your favorite home stores there, for the next (hopefully longer) trip!

2 Responses to “New York, New York”

  1. Leslie April 30, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog; it lead me to yours! I enjoyed reading about your NYC trip. I too would have brought home a ton of stuff from the Container Store. Your observation about the 9-11 Memorial is interesting. When I taught high school (the last three years), my students were little when it happened. Even though they didn’t understand everything that happened, it was still a very big deal to them.

    • Katie April 30, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Leslie! That’s so interesting, from a teacher’s perspective. And yes, The Container Store is dangerous!

Leave a comment