Bullseye! Curtains Made from Target Scarves

18 Jun

I still owe you a look at my DIY no-sew bedroom curtains, and it’s coming, I promise.

But a little bit of serendipity hit a few days ago and I have to share.

Introducing my new living room curtains…made from Target scarves!

DIY living room curtains

I was running into Target for three things (is that even possible?) and the patterns on these scarves caught my eye.

scarves

I’m not a big scarf wearer, although I always admire the pretty fabric. At $14.99 a pop, I went back and forth between all of the pretty colors, pondering what I could make with them.

Curtains! The gray and off-white stripe was calling to me as something light and airy for the living room. These scarves are extra-long, so after testing the height by holding them above my head (totally scientific), I scooped up four and restrained myself from skipping to the register.

These were the easiest curtains I’ve ever “made.” No need to cut, hem or even iron! All I did was stretch out each, attach it to the curtain rod with about 10 drapery hooks and played with them until they hung just right.

DIY Curtains

I was nervous about the stripe against the yellow couch at first, but I’m really digging it. The subtle gray stripe picks up the subtle gray in the couch, and the stripe is a nice foil to the girly floral. The scarf fabric is so light and airy, and lets so much light through it, that it doesn’t feel like another hard pattern.

DIY Curtains

DIY Curtains

DIY Curtains

I’m really excited about how they bring the room together for $60! If you’re looking for curtains, get yourself to a Target stat. The patterns they are carrying right now are so cute. I’m having trouble not picking up more…I’ve just run out of windows!

I thought this one, with the ball detail, would make especially cute drapery.

Target Scarf

So that’s the story of how a trip to Target pulled together my living room. Now I just need a rug and some art on the walls, and this place will be home!

PS. If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram (everydaypretty), you might have gotten a heads up on the whole scarf hanging business. I just couldn’t keep it to myself!

Project Featured on:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

11 Responses to “Bullseye! Curtains Made from Target Scarves”

  1. Linda June 18, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    They look great. Great idea!

    • Katie June 18, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Thanks!

  2. Lilly June 18, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Just found you on the new fancy bloggers FB group. Love this post! I am always looking for ways we can update the house on le cheap. Nice to meet you!

    Lilly
    pancakesandbeetjuice.com

    • Katie June 18, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thanks so much Lilly! Great to meet you too!

  3. A Stylish Domicile (Wendy) June 19, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    I love ingenious home decor. They look great.

    • Katie June 19, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

      Thank you Wendy!

  4. Tammy @ A Walk in the Countryside June 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Very clever idea! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Morgan July 13, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    SO brilliant! What a fantastic idea!!

    • Katie July 17, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Thanks Morgan!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Queen Stole My Coffee Table (and other thoughts) « Every Day Pretty - August 1, 2012

    […] on the hunt for some pencil drawings, possibly fashion illustrations, for my living room. With the yellow, floral and stripes I have going on, I think some pencil art will be a welcome soft […]

Leave a comment